International remote work · Spain
Digital Nomad in Spain: documents and support
The Spain digital nomad visa in 2026 is a residence permit for people who work remotely for an employer or clients outside Spain. You need an income of at least €2,849 a month for the applicant (€34,188 a year, more with family), a degree or three years of professional experience, a policy from a Spanish insurer and a criminal record certificate. From inside Spain you apply to the UGE for a permit of up to three years; from abroad, at a consulate for a visa of up to one year. ReloVictory checked the figures against the UGE guidance of 1 October 2026.
We look at your remote work model, income sources and family. We help you choose the application route and prepare the documents; the competent authority makes the decision. Minimum income in 2026: €2,849 a month for the applicant (200% of the SMI under RD 126/2026, €34,188 a year), plus €1,068.38 for the first family member and €356.13 for each additional one.
Reviewed by: Francisco Romero Jiménez, abogado ICAB 33641,

What is the digital nomad visa
Digital nomad visa, digital nomad residence permit, Digital Nomad Visa and DNV are different names for one Spanish regime. In law it is the residencia para teletrabajo de carácter internacional (articles 74 bis to 74 quinquies of Ley 14/2013), and it lets you live in Spain and work remotely for an employer or clients outside the country. From abroad you apply for a visa at a consulate; it is valid for up to one year. If you are lawfully in Spain, you apply to the UGE for a residence permit of up to three years.
What should you check before applying as a digital nomad?
Preparing a Spanish digital nomad application starts with your work arrangement: where the employer or client is based, how the relationship is documented and whether the duties can be performed remotely. Qualifications, financial resources, social security and healthcare cover also need checking. ReloVictory helps organise the documents and identify the relevant application route. The service agreement defines the support provided, while the competent authority decides the application.
Next steps
- Distinguish employment from self-employed professional activity: the rules on work for Spanish companies differ.
- Gather contracts, evidence of the relationship’s duration and permission or agreed terms for remote work from Spain.
- Check qualifications, income evidence and the foreign company’s activity against the current UGE document list.
- Review social security and healthcare cover separately; a policy’s marketing name does not establish compliance.
- Identify accompanying family members and where each person will apply before ordering certificates and translations.
Related guidance
- steps for applying from Spain or through a consulate
- digital nomad family documents
- preparing a residence permit renewal
Official sources
In brief
- Income per person
- €2,849 a month
€34,188 a year, 200% of the minimum wage, per UGE guidance as of 01.10.2026 - Family
- +€1,068 for the first, +€356 for each additional one
a month, 75% and 25% of the minimum wage, per UGE guidance as of 01.10.2026 - Processing time
- 20 working days at the UGE
if the authority does not reply, the application is approved - Validity
- Up to 3 years when applying from Spain
1 year via a consulate, then renewal - Government fee
- €73.26 for the initial permit
TIE card: €16.08; consular fee at the consulate’s rate - Spanish clients
- no more than 20% of your work
self-employed only; employees must have a foreign employer
Who it suits and who it doesn’t
Fits
- An employee of a foreign company that has been operating for at least a year
- A freelancer or business owner with foreign clients and contracts of at least three months
- I have a degree or three years of experience in the profession
- The work is done fully remotely
Does not fit
- You are offered a job with an employer based in Spain: this does not fit the employee branch of international remote work. If a foreign group has a Spanish subsidiary and plans to employ you through it, check separately who the contracting party is, the social security position and a possible intra-company transfer. Official source
- Your income is passive: savings, rent, a pension (see the residence permit without the right to work)
- You currently hold a no lucrativa permit: the UGE’s official guidance answers “no” to the question of switching from it, because you cannot work on a no lucrativa
- Spanish clients account for more than 20% of your work
- Your relationship with the company or clients is shorter than three months
How this looks in your work model: employee, freelancer, DNV or autónomo, working for a Spanish company. If you are torn between statuses, start with no lucrativa or Digital Nomad and the comparison table of grounds.
2026 requirements
The conditions are set out in articles 62 and 74 bis - 74 quinquies of Ley 14/2013 (more on it: international remote work under Ley 14/2013). The table shows separately what the law says and what the UGE guidance as of 01.10.2026 adds: the law does not state an income figure; the authority gives it in its guidance.
| Requirement | Where it comes from | How we prove it |
|---|---|---|
| Sufficient means: at least €34,188 a year for the applicant (per UGE guidance) | Law: article 62.3.f of Ley 14/2013 requires sufficient means for you and your family but sets no amount. The €34,188 threshold (200% of the minimum wage) comes from UGE guidance as of 01.10.2026 | Contract, bank statements, proof of income for recent months (which documents are accepted) |
| Relationship with the company or clients of at least three months | Law: article 74 ter, points c and d | Employment contract or service contracts, correspondence, acceptance certificates, invoices |
| The company has been operating for at least a year | Law: article 74 ter, point a | Extract from the company register, employer’s letter (what the letter must say) |
| Degree or three years’ experience | Law: article 74 bis, paragraph 2 | Degree with an apostille and sworn translation, or an employment record book and references (do you need a degree) |
| Health insurance with no co-payments or waiting periods | Law: article 62.3.e requires public or private insurance with an insurer authorised to operate in Spain; “no co-payments or waiting periods” comes from UGE guidance | A policy from a Spanish insurer for the whole period. Travel policies are not accepted (UGE criteria) |
| Criminal record certificate | Law: article 62.3.c (certificate for the countries of residence in the last two years and a declaration covering five years) | For the countries you lived in over the last two years, with an apostille and translation, plus a declaration covering five years |
| Social Security | Law: article 62.5 (social security obligations); procedure per UGE guidance | Registration in the Spanish system or a certificate of applicable legislation (explained below) |
How much you need to earn
Spain’s minimum wage in 2026 is €1,221 a month over 14 payments, or €17,094 a year. According to UGE guidance as of 01.10.2026, the threshold for the applicant is twice that: €34,188 a year (200% of the minimum wage). The law only refers to “sufficient means” (article 62.3.f). According to the same guidance, these resources must come from earned income.
A detailed calculation with examples: where the €2,849 comes from and how to calculate it for a family and income for a family of three.
| Household | Per month | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Single applicant | 2 849 € | 34 188 € |
| Applicant and spouse or partner | 3 917 € | 47 008 € |
| Plus one child | 4 274 € | 51 282 € |
| Plus two children | 4 630 € | 55 556 € |
Income calculator
A guide based on the 2026 law, not a legal opinion. Amounts are before tax.
Check every digital nomad visa requirement · How much savings you need if income is lower
Two ways to apply
The main decision is whether to apply from Spain or through a consulate. Validity and processing times depend on it.
| From Spain (UGE) | Through a consulate | |
|---|---|---|
| Who can apply | People legally in Spain, including tourists in their first 90 days | People living outside Spain |
| What you get | A permit for up to 3 years | A visa for up to 1 year, then a permit from the UGE |
| Decision time | 20 working days by law; if the authority does not reply, the application is approved | 10 working days by law (article 75.5 of Ley 14/2013), in practice it can take longer: consulates consult the central services (SIVICO) |
| Application | Online; you need a digital certificate or a representative | In person at the consulate, by appointment |
| Risk | You must stay in Spain legally until the decision | Consulates are overloaded and their document requirements vary |
For many clients, applying from Spain is the better option: the permit is issued for up to three years instead of one. But it does not suit everyone, so we first check your entry status. A consular visa lets you live and work for up to a year. You can switch to a UGE permit by applying in the last 60 calendar days of the visa’s validity (article 74 quater).
Step by step: from Spain or through a consulate, applying on a tourist visa, documents for the consulate in Moscow, single-entry Schengen visas for Russians and how many years a DNV is issued for.
Documents
Choose your model to see the list. Tick off what is ready: your ticks are stored only in your browser.
What most often raises questions: a criminal record certificate from Russia, apostilles on Russian documents, the employer’s letter. If the authority asks for more documents, you have 10 working days to reply: how to answer a requerimiento.
If you are from Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan or Ukraine
General guides usually do not answer these questions. An overview for Russians: digital nomad residence permit for Russians.
- Criminal record certificate. For Russia, Belarus, Armenia and Uzbekistan it goes through with an apostille, followed by a sworn translation. Allow separate time for this.
- Employer and bank. Your income must be backed by documents, and the company and payment channels must not raise questions. Which certificates are accepted is covered in the article on Russian income certificates. Whether a Russian sole proprietorship or self-employed status qualifies depends on how your client contracts are drawn up.
- Social security. An employee has two options: the foreign employer registers in the Spanish system, or a certificate under an international social security agreement. Whether the second option is open for your country is something we check before filing: employee on a DNV without an A1.
- Entry. If you plan to apply from Spain, your visa status and number of entries affect the route. We check this before you buy tickets: Schengen for Russians and residence plans.
- Other countries. For nationals of Kazakhstan, Belarus, Armenia and Georgia the procedure differs in consulates and the set of documents.
Social security and status after approval
According to the UGE’s official guidance, if you work from Spain you must be in the Spanish social security system. How this is done depends on your model.
| Model | What is required |
|---|---|
| Employee | The foreign employer registers in advance in the Spanish system as a non-resident company without a branch and enrols you. Alternatively, you can prove coverage from the company’s country if it has a social security agreement with Spain and a certificate has been issued that expressly states coverage in Spain |
| Freelancer, sole trader | You register yourself as autónomo (RETA scheme). Coverage under a bilateral agreement cannot be used in this case |
For the self-employed, timing matters: if there is no registration after approval and this comes out in an inspection, the permit may be terminated, and this will affect family members. You can register at a PAE point together with the tax side. More: DNV and Seguridad Social.
Taxes
A residence permit and tax residence are different things. You become a Spanish tax resident if you spend more than 183 days a year in the country or your centre of interests is here. The DNV law sets no minimum number of days in Spain for the visa itself: do you have to live in Spain for 183 days.
| Standard regime | Beckham regime | |
|---|---|---|
| Rate | Progressive IRPF scale on worldwide income | 24% on income up to €600,000, 47% above that |
| Period | While you are a tax resident | The year of the move and the next five tax periods |
| Condition | No | Not having been a Spanish tax resident in the previous five years |
| How to opt in | Standard tax return | Application (form 149) within six months of the start date of activity shown in your social security registration |
| Who can use it | All residents | Employed remote workers with a visa under Ley 14/2013; usually not freelancers |
The law expressly names employees with a remote work visa. A freelancer needs a separate analysis, and we do it before filing, not after. In detail: the Beckham Law for digital nomads and digital nomad taxes in Spain.
Family
You can include a spouse or partner, children and dependent parents, either at the same time as you or later. Children can be minors or adults who depend on you and have not started their own family. The income requirement goes up: €1,068 a month for the first family member and €356 for each additional one. Each person needs their own documents proving the relationship. According to UGE guidance, family members receive a permit that lets them both live and work. More: spouse, unmarried partner, children over 18 and parents and family on a DNV.
Timeframes and costs
| Item | Amount or timeframe |
|---|---|
| Government fee for the initial permit (modelo 790, código 038) | €73.26, paid online before applying; proof of payment goes with the application |
| Renewal | check on the authority’s website |
| TIE card (modelo 790, código 012) | 16,08 € |
| Consular fee when applying abroad | at the consulate’s rate |
| Apostilles, sworn translations, insurance | Separate; depend on your country and documents |
| Preparing the package | Depends on the countries and the queues for apostilles and translations, so it is best to start early |
| UGE processing | 20 working days by law; if the authority does not reply, the application is approved |
| Request for additional documents | 10 working days to reply |
| TIE card after the decision | Required if the permit is issued for more than six months |
We recheck government fees every February, when the minimum wage changes.
More: which fees you pay for a DNV, how long the UGE takes to process an application, how to check the status of your application.
After approval and renewal
After the decision you book a fingerprint appointment, get your TIE card, register on the padrón, sort out social security and, if you qualify, apply for the Beckham regime. We handle this stage with you: the first 30 days after DNV approval.
A 3-year permit is renewed for 2 years. The law also allows you to apply for renewal within 90 days after the permit expires, but the article does not state a window for applying before expiry, so we file early and do not leave it to the last minute. Renewal is done online. In total this comes to 5 years, after which the path to long-term residence opens. At renewal they check that the conditions that gave you the right to the permit still hold: income, the share of Spanish clients, taxes and insurance. Any change in conditions must be reported to the UGE within 30 days (Ley 14/2013, additional provision 7, paragraph 2), so keep your evidence from day one. In detail: renewing a DNV after three years, changing employer on a DNV, and the general procedure for other grounds on the residence permit renewal page.
Requests for documents and refusals
A request for additional documents (requerimiento) is common and is not a refusal. You have 10 working days to reply; if you do not, you may be treated as having withdrawn the application. What is usually requested and how to answer: requerimiento from the UGE.
If you are refused, you can file a recurso de alzada against the UGE decision. For an express decision the deadline is one month, so start counting straight away. Reasons for refusal and what to do: DNV refusal, recurso and next steps. An appeal is not included in our fee, but we can help you review the refusal at a consultation and work out whether an appeal makes sense.
How we work and what it costs
Case handling: from €1,936 incl. IVA, family member +€726. All prices.
First consultation: 15 minutes free. Full individual consultation: €121 for 45 minutes. After that we price the work individually and draw up an estimate, which you sign before we start. Government fees and translations are paid separately and appear as separate lines in the estimate. Advance payment: 50% before work begins and 50% before filing.
We handle the case until the authority decides. Corrections in response to requests and a resubmission are included in the price; an appeal is not. We do not promise approval and are not responsible for how long public bodies take: the decision is made by a government authority.
- Review. We check your work model, income, documents and filing route.
- Preparation. We gather and check the documents and arrange apostilles and translations.
- Filing. We file on your behalf where the law allows a representative (notarised power of representation, apud acta, registered representative). Where filing is in person (consulate, arraigo), we prepare the package and go with you. We prepare replies to the authority’s requests together with you.
- After the decision. TIE card, padrón registration, taxes, renewal plan.
Frequently asked questions
Are the digital nomad visa and the digital nomad residence permit the same thing?
Can you apply while in Spain on a tourist visa?
How much do you need to earn in 2026?
Does income from a Russian company count?
What if you have no degree?
Can you work for a Spanish company on a DNV?
Do you need to register as autónomo?
Which insurance is accepted?
What if the UGE does not reply?
Is the Beckham regime available to freelancers?
What happens after three years?
Can you change employer on a DNV?
Do you have to live in Spain for 183 days?
Can you switch to DNV from no lucrativa?
Can family members work in Spain?
Are the visa and the residence permit one procedure?
Read more
Sources
- BOE: Ley 14/2013, articles 74 bis - 74 quinquies, 76 and additional provision 7 (international remote work)
- Ministry of Inclusion, UGE: answers to frequent questions on permits for remote workers (in Spanish)
- BOE: fee amounts for foreign nationals
- BOE: Real Decreto 126/2026, minimum wage for 2026
- BOE: Real Decreto 87/2025, minimum wage for 2025
- BOE: Ley 35/2006 on IRPF, articles 9 and 93 (Beckham regime)
- Agencia Tributaria: modelo 149, notice of opting for the regime for workers relocated to Spain
- Spanish Ministry of Foreign Affairs: consulate pages on the remote work visa
Minimum wage for 2026 under Real Decreto 126/2026. Sources checked on 3 October 2026. This material is for information only and does not replace individual legal advice. Figures updated on 01.10.2026.
How does this apply to your situation?
Choose your first step with a short quiz or discuss your questions with the ReloVictory team.
Where to start preparing
For the first review, prepare a short description of your situation, your current status and the timing you have in mind. First we clarify the basis and the order of steps, then we agree on the scope of support and the documents needed.
Requirements and law
- Digital Nomad in Spain: residence requirements for remote work
- What international teleworking means under Ley 14/2013
- Ley 14/2013: what this law is and how it relates to the DNV
- Do you need a degree for the DNV? Degree or three years of experience
- How long the DNV is issued for: 1 year or 3 years
- Spanish digital nomad residence for Russian citizens: the 2026 process
- Spanish nomad visa from Kazakhstan and CIS countries: where to apply
- Spain digital nomad visa from Turkey: where to apply and what you need
- No Lucrativa or Digital Nomad Visa: Which to Choose in Spain
- Spain or Portugal for digital nomads: DNV and D8 compared
- Remote work in Spain without a visa: the risks and the legal options
Income, employer and clients
- Income required for Spanish digital nomad residence in 2026
- How much income a family of three needs for the DNV
- How to prove income for the UGE: which documents are accepted
- Digital nomad visa for employees: required documents
- Digital nomad residence for freelancers: contracts and documents
- Nomad vs autónomo in Spain: DNV or cuenta propia
- Digital nomad visa: does a Russian IP or self-employed status qualify
- The 20% rule for Spanish clients on the DNV: how to calculate it
- Digital nomad visa and Spanish clients: working for a Spanish company
- Employer letter for the digital nomad visa: template and contents
- Changing employer on a DNV: what to report to UGE and when
Application, UGE and documents
- Applying for digital nomad residence from Spain on a tourist visa
- Spanish Consulate in Moscow: applying for a digital nomad visa
- What is the UGE in Spain and what does it do
- How long UGE takes to decide a DNV application: 20 days and longer
- Government fees for the DNV: UGE, TIE and the visa
- Health insurance for a Spanish residence permit: UGE rules and refusals
- UGE requerimiento for digital nomads: what to add and how to respond
- Spanish digital nomad visa refusal: recurso and deadlines
Social security, tax, family and renewal
- Digital nomad in Spain: social security and Seguridad Social
- A1 certificate for digital nomads in Spain: what replaces it on the DNV
- Digital Nomad Taxes in Spain: IRPF, the Beckham Law and Russia
- Beckham Law in Spain: who gets the 24% rate and how to file modelo 149
- Family on the digital nomad visa in Spain: requirements and documents
- Digital nomad residence for your family in Spain: who qualifies
- TIE after digital nomad approval: your first 30 days with the DNV
- Renewing Spanish digital nomad residence: what UGE checks
- From the digital nomad visa to permanent residence and Spanish citizenship: the whole route by year
- Switching from the digital nomad visa to another Spanish residence permit
Deadlines, mandatory payments and requirements are checked for each specific procedure. Approval is not guaranteed.