- The UGE requires payslips (nóminas) or invoices (facturas) for the three months before the application date and a bank certificate in the applicant’s name, stamped or signed, for the same three months [1].
- Amounts are counted gross, that is, before taxes and contributions. Any difference between the payslips and the bank is explained in a letter [1].
- The income certificate from the Russian Federal Tax Service (FNS, formerly 2-NDFL) is not on the UGE list. The consulate in Moscow lists it among the documents for entrepreneurs applying for a Schengen visa, but that is a different procedure [2].
- The employer’s letter must state the salary in euros. The UGE does not specify the exchange rate for converting from roubles [1].
- Documents not in Spanish are translated by a sworn translator, and public documents issued by Russian authorities need an apostille [1][4].
What does the UGE accept as proof of income?
The list in the UGE guidance for applicants who apply to the UGE is as follows [1]:
- payslips (nóminas) or invoices (facturas) for the three months before the application date, proving income under an employment or professional contract;
- a bank certificate (certificado bancario) in the applicant’s name, stamped or signed by the bank, for the same three months: the payments received under the payslips or invoices must match them and be marked separately;
- a letter from the foreign company with the job profile, duties, a statement on remote work, the salary in euros and other conditions;
- if the contract income falls short of the threshold: bank certificates on savings or other liquid income covering the difference for the whole term of the permit.
The threshold in 2026 for the applicant: 2,849 euros a month, that is, 34,188 euros a year before taxes [5].
Which Russian documents meet the UGE requirements?
| What the UGE requires | Russian equivalent | Caveat |
|---|---|---|
| Nóminas | Payslips from your employer | Three months before the application date [1] |
| Facturas under a professional contract | The contractor’s invoices and acceptance certificates under a contract with a foreign client | A professional contract is needed, not an employment contract [1] |
| Certificado bancario | Bank certificate in the applicant’s name, stamped or signed | Payments received marked separately [1] |
| Personal income tax return (for an autónomo societario without payslips) | 3-NDFL tax return for the previous year | The UGE calls it an “IRPF equivalent” and does not specify the form [1] |
| Certificate of income and tax amounts (FNS, formerly 2-NDFL) | Taxpayer’s personal account, PDF and XML signed by the FNS | Not on the UGE list [1][6][7] |
The FNS certificate can be downloaded from your personal account in PDF and XML with an enhanced qualified electronic signature, as the FNS announced in its news [6][7]. There is no official answer as to whether the UGE accepts this certificate instead of a payslip: attach it as a supplement, not as a replacement.
How do you show income in euros and gross?
The UGE requires the employer’s letter to state the salary in euros [1]. Gross means the amount accrued before taxes and contributions, and less arrives on your card. The difference is covered by an explanatory letter: the UGE itself recommends attaching one when the documents do not match the list [1]. It is sensible to record the exchange rate and the conversion date in it: which rate the authority accepts is not stated.
The bank certificate must be in the applicant’s name [1]. More: how to prove income for the UGE and payments to Spain from CIS countries.
Do you need an apostille and a translation?
The UGE divides documents into two types. Public documents issued by foreign authorities must be legalised or apostilled, while the rest only need a sworn translation [1]. Payslips and the employer’s letter are private documents. The UGE does not explain which type the FNS certificate, a register extract or a certificate from a private bank belong to. The apostille procedure in Russia is covered in apostille on Russian documents. For the teleworking visa, the consulate in Moscow mentions an apostille only for the Russian criminal record certificate; it says nothing of the kind about income certificates [3]. The Spanish Ministry of Foreign Affairs page on legalisation does not accept electronic signatures when legalising originals [4].
What we don't know
We did not find an official list of Russian forms: the UGE describes the requirements in general terms and allows explanatory letters. We do not know whether the UGE accepts an electronically signed FNS certificate or a bank certificate downloaded from online banking. For your own file, book a consultation; the general rules on income: income for the DNV in 2026. The whole path step by step: DNV route card; about the service: digital nomad residence.
Frequently asked questions
Does the UGE accept a 2-NDFL certificate?
Which income documents are needed for a digital nomad residence permit?
Is income counted gross or net?
Do Russian income certificates need to be translated?
What if the salary is in roubles?
What income do you need to show in 2026?
Official sources
- Ministry of Inclusion · UGE: documents for the teleworker permit ↗
- Spanish Consulate in Moscow · Schengen visa rules for Russian citizens ↗
- Spanish Consulate in Moscow · teleworking visa, documents and apostille ↗
- Spanish Ministry of Foreign Affairs · Legalisation and apostille, translation of documents ↗
- Ministry of Inclusion · UGE: questions and answers on international teleworking ↗
- Russian FNS · income certificate can be downloaded from your personal account (2017) ↗
- Russian FNS · electronic income certificate on the Gosuslugi portal (2020) ↗
Sources reviewed on 02.10.2026. Consolidated texts and government reference pages are for information only: applying the law depends on official publications, amendments and the specific circumstances. Reviewed by lawyer Francisco Romero Jiménez (ICAB 33641) on 21.10.2026.
Turn the information into questions.
The navigator helps you gather topics for an individual review. It does not determine your right to a residence permit and does not submit an application.
Build your checklistReloVictory terms: a 15-minute consultation is free, a full consultation costs €121 for 45 minutes; case management is priced by quote, and fees and translations are paid separately. The legal side is handled by the team’s lawyer, the tax and administrative side by a graduada social. More: about the team.
Prefer to do it yourself? Step-by-step guides: residence permit in Barcelona: from empadronamiento to TIE and route cards by residence ground.
Related articles
ReloVictory · Sources reviewed 02.10.2026 · Not a substitute for individual legal advice.
