Relocation

How much money you need for a Spanish residence permit in 2026: every threshold in one table

Minimum income for Spanish residence permits is set from two benchmarks: the minimum wage (SMI) and the IPREM indicator. In 2026 the digital nomad visa needs €2,849 a month for one person, non-lucrative residence €2,400, studies €600 and family reunification €900 for a family of two.

Information material, not an individual legal opinion. Conditions apply to each specific situation and may change.
In brief
  • Digital nomad visa: €2,849 a month for one person, plus €1,068.38 for the first family member and €356.13 for each further one[2][5].
  • Non-lucrative residence: €2,400 a month for one person and €600 for each family member; for the first year that is €28,800 plus €7,200 per person[1][3].
  • Studies: €600 a month; family reunification: €900 for two people and €300 for each further one[1].

What the thresholds are based on: SMI and IPREM

The 2026 minimum wage (salario mínimo interprofesional, SMI) is set by Real Decreto 126/2026: €1,221 a month in 14 payments, at least €17,094 a year[2]. Spread over 12 months that is €1,424.50. The digital nomad visa income is calculated from the SMI[5].

IPREM (indicador público de renta de efectos múltiples) is €600 a month and €7,200 a year in 2026. The amount was set by the 2023 Budget Act; no new budget has been passed since, so it still applies in 2026[3][4]. Almost every other route under the Reglamento de extranjería is calculated from IPREM[1].

All amounts below are monthly minimums: the Reglamento calls them «mínimas» and checks them on the date of the application[1].

Summary table of 2026 thresholds

Monthly amounts for the applicant and the family members who move with them:

RouteHow it is calculatedOne personTwoThreeFour
Digital nomad visa200 % of SMI, 75 % for the first family member, 25 % for each further one[5]€2,849€3,917.38€4,273.50€4,629.63
Non-lucrative residence (no lucrativa)400 % of IPREM and 100 % for each family member, article 62[1]€2,400€3,000€3,600€4,200
Studies (estancia por estudios)100 % of IPREM, 75 % for the first family member, 50 % for each further one, article 35[1]€600€1,050€1,350€1,650
Family reunification (reagrupación familiar)150 % of IPREM for a family of two, 50 % for each further member, article 67[1]not applicable€900€1,200€1,500
EU long-term residence (larga duración-UE)Same amounts as family reunification, article 176[1]not stated separately€900€1,200€1,500
Arraigo social through family tiesAt least 100 % of IPREM, article 127[1]€600not statednot statednot stated

For studies the Reglamento adds a proviso: if accommodation is paid in advance for the whole stay, this is taken into account when assessing the funds for your own maintenance[1].

How much to show for a year

For non-lucrative residence the monthly amount is multiplied by the length of the permit (article 62.2)[1]. The first permit is issued for one year, a renewal for two years (articles 61.4 and 64.7)[1]:

HouseholdFirst permit, 12 monthsRenewal, 24 months
One person€28,800€57,600
Two€36,000€72,000
Three€43,200€86,400
Four€50,400€100,800

For the digital nomad visa the threshold is monthly: remote-work income is compared with €2,849 a month, or €34,188 a year for one person[2][5]. You can work out your own case with the calculators digital nomad visa check, savings for the digital nomad visa and funds for no lucrativa.

Where there is no fixed threshold

  • Arraigo sociolaboral: instead of an amount you need one or more employment contracts paying at least the SMI in proportion to the hours, for a total of at least 20 hours a week (article 127)[1].
  • National long-term residence (article 183): the article sets no separate financial threshold, unlike EU long-term residence under article 176[1].
  • Employment: the threshold is the salary in the contract and the collective agreement, not a percentage of IPREM.

If you are not sure which route fits, start with the comparison in choosing a residence route: comparison table.

How to use the table

These are minimums. The authorities look not only at the amount but at where the money comes from and how regular it is. For family reunification and EU long-term residence the Reglamento expressly requires «recursos fijos y regulares»[1].

The amounts change when the SMI and IPREM change: the SMI is set by royal decree every year, IPREM by the Budget Act. Before applying, check the figures in the BOE on the date of your application. If your income is close to the threshold or paid in another currency, that is a matter for an individual review.

Frequently asked questions

How much do you need to earn for the Spanish digital nomad visa in 2026?
€2,849 a month for the main applicant: 200 % of the 2026 minimum wage spread over 12 months. Add €1,068.38 for the first family member and €356.13 for each further one. [2][5]
How much money do you need for non-lucrative residence in 2026?
€2,400 a month for the applicant (400 % of IPREM) and €600 for each family member. For a one-year first permit that is €28,800 for one person plus €7,200 for each family member. [1][3]
What income do you need for family reunification in Spain?
€900 a month for a family of two (150 % of IPREM) plus €300 for each further family member. The income must be stable and regular. [1]
How much money do you need for a Spanish student visa?
€600 a month for the student (100 % of IPREM), €450 for the first family member and €300 for each further one. [1]
Why are the thresholds so different between permits?
They are tied to different benchmarks and percentages. The digital nomad visa is calculated from the minimum wage (SMI), the other routes from IPREM, which is much lower in 2026. [1][2][4]

Official sources

  1. BOE · Real Decreto 1155/2024 (Immigration Regulation), articles 35, 61, 62, 64, 67, 127, 176 and 183 ↗
  2. BOE · Real Decreto 126/2026, 2026 minimum wage: €1,221 a month, at least €17,094 a year ↗
  3. BOE · Ley 31/2022, 2023 State Budget, additional provision 90: IPREM ↗
  4. Seguridad Social · IPREM 2026: €20 a day, €600 a month, €7,200 a year ↗
  5. Ministry of Inclusion, UGE · documents for initial teletrabajadores applications (income) ↗
  6. BOE · Ley 14/2013, articles 74 bis and 74 quater ↗

Sources reviewed on 26.10.2026. Consolidated texts and government reference pages are for information only: applying the law depends on official publications, amendments and the specific circumstances. Reviewed by lawyer Francisco Romero Jiménez (ICAB 33641) on 28.10.2026.

Turn the information into questions.

The navigator helps you gather topics for an individual review. It does not determine your right to a residence permit and does not submit an application.

Build your checklist

ReloVictory terms: a 15-minute consultation is free, a full consultation costs €121 for 45 minutes; case handling is priced by quote, and fees and translations are paid separately. The team’s lawyer handles the legal side, and a graduada social handles tax and administrative matters. More: about the team.

Prefer to do it yourself? Step-by-step guides: residence permit in Barcelona: from empadronamiento to TIE and route cards by residence ground.

How does this apply to you?

Choose your first step with a short quiz or discuss your questions with the ReloVictory team.